top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Rowe

Blog no.2- staying positive in an uncertain time

Updated: May 14, 2020

Blog No.2-


I wrote my first blog when I was 10 weeks pregnant. Today I am 17 weeks & definitely feeling the nicer stages of pregnancy. Between around 6-10 weeks I experienced bad nausea. I was never physically sick but woke up feeling sick & it lasted all day. The only thing that made me feel slightly better was eating, so I listened to my body & tried to eat little an often (although little probably wasn’t quite the case when all I fancied was pasta, crisps & basically all the carbs).


It’s such a strange time at the moment & to be totally honest I’m having good & bad days. I find it hard to believe what’s going on & I just hope you are all finding your own ways to cope. For me exercise is always is my ‘thing’. I recently sent out an instagram post urging people to find ‘their thing’. It doesn’t matter what it is but we all need to work out what makes us feel better, something to keep our day relatively structured & something in which we can use to switch off from the reality of what’s happening for a short period of time. Some examples could be; drawing, cooking, reading, puzzles, home workouts, yoga, podcasts, knitting, housework, DIY.


For me my ‘new normal’ consists of a lazy morning & making the most of getting between 9-10hrs sleep a night. Then doing any admin work, ticking off emails & catching up with any messages I might of missed from the night before when I fell asleep at 9pm! Then I usually get my exercise in- at the moment I’m mostly using Zwift (the indoor cycling platform) to ride for around 1hr. Or, I’m lucky enough to have a treadmill in the garage so have also been doing a mixture of run/walk sessions for around 1hr again. I use my Garmin Fenix 6 watch to keep an eye on my heart rate in order for it not to go too high for too long. By doing exercise everyday it gives me structure, takes a few hours out of my day, means I enjoy food (even more), and also helps me to sleep really well in the evenings.


Being pregnant alone has its own worries throughout the 40 weeks without going through a pandemic at the same time. Changes are being made and we are having to adapt focussing on keeping calm and trying to do what’s best for us and the baby. I was suppose to have a 16 week midwife appointment however this was turned into a phone call which unfortunately didn’t reassure me that everything was going ok. I was lucky enough to still have my whopping cough jab which was today. I know of some pregnant women who are being denied this due to the current situation we are in. Before going to the doctors I was really nervous, however I felt super safe with the controls that had been put in place to keep everyone as safe as possible at the doctors surgery.


Something I want to keep talking about throughout my blog is things which are helping me throughout my pregnancy. I was recommended to think about hypo birthing. Originally I was sceptical, however now knowing what its all about I’ve totally bought into the concept and will be using it throughout my pregnancy and birth. Im currently reading-‘ your baby your birth’ written by Hollie de Cruz. Its a fantastic book, explains in a simple vocabulary about what hypnobirthing is and how it can help you. Additionally im now completing ‘the yes mum birth project’ which was also designed by Hollie. The program provides audio files and resources to help you prepare for a positive birth. Myself and Matt (my husband) are listening to the audio clips before bed which I find really relaxing and reassuring that even though we can’t now attend scans together, or attend any antenatal classes, we are still being pro active in preparing for the birth of our baby.


As I mentioned at the beginning of this blog, im now 17 weeks pregnant so my next appointment is the big one- 20 WEEKS!! We’ve decided that we are going to find out the gender. We feel it will help us even more so in this current situation.


Keep updated on my journey via my social media- instagram- dani_rowe_mbe


Really hope you’re enjoying my blogs, please do leave a comment.


Stay safe. xx




674 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page